MacEachren named AAAS Fellow

Monday, December 2, 2013 - 10:41am

Alan M. MacEachren, professor of geography and director of the GeoVISTA Center, has been chosen as one of seven Penn State faculty members named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Continuing a tradition begun in 1874, inductees are elected by the AAAS Council in recognition of “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

“It is a tremendous honor to be elected as a AAAS Fellow, and something that I never anticipated. The long scientific history of AAAS and its central role internationally in all scientific disciplines makes it particularly gratifying to be recognized by AAAS in this way,” MacEachren said.

MacEachren was named a 2013 AAAS Fellow in the Section on Geology and Geography for “distinguished research and leadership in the understanding of cartographic symbolization, geovisualization, and the effective use of mapped information,” according to the citation letter.



MacEachren is our closing Coffee Hour speaker for the fall 2013 semester. His talk is on "Geo-Visual Analytics and 'Big' Data: Leveraging Geo-Information in Unstructured Data"



He is among the 388 newly elected AAAS Fellows whose names are published in the November 29 issue of Science, and who will be honored at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Saturday, February 15, during the AAAS annual meeting in Chicago, where they will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

“While AAAS recognizes Fellows as individuals, research that the recognition is based upon would not have been possible without the exceptional set of colleagues and students in the GeoVISTA Center over the past 15 years, nor without strong support from the Department of Geography and the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences since my arrival here at Penn State in 1985,” MacEachren reflected. “My research has always cut across disciplinary boundaries and I look forward to enhanced opportunities to build new connections across disciplines.”

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Learn more about the AAAS Fellows program.

The other Penn State Fellows elected this year are Ottar N. Bjørnstad, professor of entomology, biology and statistics; Squire J. Booker, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and molecular biology; William H. Brune, chair and Distinguished Professor of Meteorology; Kevin P. Furlong, professor of geosciences; Bruce E. Logan, Evan Pugh Professor of Environmental Engineering and Kappe Professor of Environmental Engineering; and James R. Broach, chair and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, College of Medicine. Read more on Penn State news.