Students, faculty, and staff celebrate accomplishments

Monday, April 29, 2013 - 10:02am

Annual department Recognition Reception held on April 26



 Meckler with Gockleys

Jeff Gockley Memorial Award recipient Katherine Meckler with the Gockley family.

As the spring semester came to a close, students, faculty, staff, alumni, parents, and friends of the Department of Geography gathered at The Nittany Lion Inn on Friday, April 26, 2013, to recognize the accomplishments of the year.

The Gockley family attended; Gwen McCauley presented the Jeff Gockley Memorial Award, named for her brother.

Karl Zimmerer served as the master of ceremonies, sharing the lectern with Cindy Brewer and Brent Yarnal, for the presentations of undergraduate and graduate student awards, respectively.


Highlights of the awards presented


Recognition Reception 2013 program cover See full list of awards and graduates in the program booklet [PDF].

Undergraduate student awards

Jeff Gockley Memorial Award: Katherine Meckler


Balmat Family Scholarship in Geography: Marina Burka, Stacy Nowicki


Balmat Family Fund in Geography for Honors Scholars: M. Chelsea Gilliam, Megan Ruffe


G. D. Richardson and Kathy LaSauce Undergraduate Scholarship in Geography in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences: Yiting Ju, Benjamin Levine, Thaddeus Lopatka, Marybeth McGinnis, Melissa Peterson


Geography Alumni Scholars (Outstanding Student) Award: Branden Belajac, Charles Ferrer, Peter Gorman, Sarah Hanson, Jill Mailloux, Megan Ruffe


Geography Student Scholarships: Aaron Dennis, Blake Naito


E. Willard Miller Award in Geography: M. Chelsea Gilliam, Yiting Ju, Rachel Passmore


Graduate student awards

E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Distinguished Graduate Fellowship: Nathan Frey


E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Geography Graduate Student Fund: Rachel Isaacs


E. Willard Miller Award in Geography: Dana Cuomo, Russell Hedberg, Vanessa Massaro


Geography Alumni Scholars (Outstanding Student) Award: Jinlong Yang


Geography Outstanding Research Assistant Award: Catherine Jampel


Faculty and staff awards

Staff Outstanding Service Award: Kary Isett


AAG Climate Specialty Group Lifetime Achievement Award: Brent Yarnal


Fellow of the American Association for the  Advancement of Science (AAAS): Karl Zimmerer


AAG Cultural and Political Ecology (CAPE) Group:  The Netting Career Award: Karl Zimmerer


National Wetlands Award for Science Research from the Environmental Law Institute: Rob Brooks