Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards

2017 Geography Faculty Awards and Recognition

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

  • Faculty Mentoring Award: Andrew Carleton
  • Wilson Award for Excellence in Research: Alan Taylor
  • Wilson Research Initiation Grant: Bronwen Powell

Penn State

  • Institute for CyberScience (ICS) Seed Grant: Jennifer Baka, Alan MacEachren
  • Penn State Institutes of Energy and the Environment (IEE) Seed Grant: Jennifer Baka

American Association of Geographers (AAG)

  • AAG 2017 Presidential Achievement Award: Roger Downs
  • AAG Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism in Research and Practice: Melissa Wright
  • AAG National Councilor: Lorraine Dowler
  • AAG Biogeography Specialty Group Henry C. Cowles Award for Best Publication: Alan Taylor

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Department Faculty Named as AAAS Fellows

  • Alan McEachren, 2013
  • Karl Zimmerer, 2012
  • William Easterling, 2009
  • Ronald Abler, 1985