Student Awards

Student Awards

2018 Undergraduate and Graduate Student Awards and Recognition


Department of Geography

Jeff Gockley Memorial Award: Brittany Waltemate

Balmat Family Scholarship in Geography: Nebraska Hernandez, Colin Kelly

Balmat Family Fund in Geography for Honors Scholars: name withheld

G. D. Richardson and Kathy LaSauce Undergraduate Scholarship in Geography in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences: Bryce Buck, Milan Liu, Thomas Loughery, Nicole Rivera, Courtney Rome

E. Willard Miller Award in Geography Undergraduate Paper, 1st Place: Julia Higson

Geography Alumni Scholars (Outstanding Student) Award: Julia Higson, Christopher Mertz, Sophie Najjar, Yuying Ren, Ellie Thurston, Doran Tucker

Ronald F. Abler Award in Geography: Christopher Mertz

Erickson Fund in Geography: Joseph Grosso, Brit Ickes, Christopher Mertz, Courtney Rome, Brandon Rothrock, Peter Ryan

C. Gregory Knight Endowment in Geography: Eva Bonta, Adelaide Kellett, Shane Leister, Andrew Patterson

Peter R. Gould Center for Geography Education and Outreach Student Engagement Award: Adelaide Kellett, Brandon Rothrock



Department of Geography

E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Distinguished Graduate Fellowship in Geography: Lucas Harris

E. Willard Miller Award in Geography

  • PhD Paper, 1st Place: Elena Sava
  • PhD Paper, 2nd place: Aparna Parikh
  • PhD Proposal, 1st Place: Meg Boyle 
  • PhD Proposal, 2nd Place:  Eden Kinkaid
  • Master’s Paper 1st Place: Jamie Peeler
  • Master’s Paper 2nd  Place: Natalie Pawlikowski
  • Master’s Proposal 1st Place: Stacey Olson
  • Master’s Proposal 2nd Place: Lauren Fritzsche


Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award: Jiayan Zhao

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Carolynne Hultquist

Supporting Women in Geography Nancy Brown Community Service Award: Megan Baumann, Eden Kinkaid

Ronald F. Abler Award in Geography: Megan Baumann, Weiming Hu

Erickson Fund in Geography: Meg Boyle, Jiayan Zhao

C. Gregory Knight Endowment in Geography: Mary Louise Ryan, Julie Sanchez

Ruby S. Miller Endowment for Geographic Excellence: Cary Anderson, Peter Backhaus, Meg Boyle, Weiming Hu, Jiawei Huang, Tara Mazurczyk, Natalie Pawlikoski, Jamie Peeler